Bylaws are the primary legislation of the Students' Union and set out the basic legal structure and operational parameters of the Students' Union. Any internally created rule not in accordance with the bylaws is of no force and effect so far as there is a conflict. The bylaws are concerned with major governance issues such as the structure of the legislative, executive and judicial branches of the Students' Union as well as its finances. Elections, referenda, faculty associations and access to information are some additional areas in which Council has legislated. The process by which bylaws are amended can be found in the Standing Orders of Students' Council.

Bylaw Description
Bylaw 100 Students' Council
Bylaw 100 Schedule A
Bylaw 100 Schedule B Oversight, Ad Hoc, and Operational Committees
Bylaw 500 Access to Students' Union Information
Bylaw 600 Students' Union Bilingualism
Bylaw 1100 Executive Committee
Bylaw 1500 Judiciary
Bylaw 2100 Chief Returning Officer and Elections Staff of the Students’ Union
Bylaw 2200 Executive Committee and Board of Governors Representative Elections, Plebiscites and Referenda of the Students’ Union
Bylaw 2300 Councillor Elections to Students’ Council and General Faculties’ Council
Bylaw 2400 Balloting and Counting of Students’ Union Elections
Bylaw 2500 Plebiscites for University Mandatory Non-Instructional Fees
Bylaw 3000 Students' Union Finances
Bylaw 3000 Schedule
Bylaw 4000 Students' Union Strategic Plan
Bylaw 5600 Student Groups
Bylaw 6000 Schedule
Bylaw 6100 Dedicated Fee Units
Bylaw 6200 Operational Dedicated Fee Units
Bylaw 6300 Granting Dedicated Fee Units
Bylaw 8100 Student Representative Associations
Bylaw 8100 Schedule
Bylaw 8200 Student Representative Association Finances
Bylaw 8200 Schedule
Bylaw 8400 Faculty Membership Fees
Facebook Twitter







Discover Governance
Room 6-24
Students' Union Building
University of Alberta
8900 - 114 Street NW
Edmonton, AB
T6G 2J7